Mt. Kailash Inner Parikrama: The Ultimate Guide to Spiritualism

Mt. Kailash Inner Parikrama: The Ultimate Guide to Spiritualism

Introduction to Inner Parikrama of Mount Kailash: 

A cluster of Belief, Spirituality, Religion, Hope, and an unending source of cosmic energy, Mount Kailash is more than just a mountain made of stone and snow. Hindus, Buddhists, Jains, and Bons all revere Mount Kailash as one of the holiest mountains in the world. Axis Mundi is the term given to it since it is thought to be the naval of the universe. According to the Shiva Purana, performing the Parikrama of Mount Kailash will bring good fortune and purge sins.

The Kailash Mountain is located in the Ngari Prefecture in the far west of Tibet. It is definitely worthwhile to do the Mt. Kailash Kora tour since Mount Kailash, also known as Gang Rimpoche in Tibetan, is situated in the middle of sixteen mountain ranges that symbolise the ideal structure of the Lotus. 

Mount Kailash Kora (Parikrama): 

The Parikrama of heavenly Mount Kailash can be divided basically into two distinctive routes, namely Inner Parikrama and Outer Parikrama. Based on their degree of difficulty, the inclusion of spiritual centers, distance, and the areas they cover, both stand out as being very different from one another.

The Outer Kora of Mt. Kailash is about 40 km that is covered in 3 days, taking 2 overnight stays at Diraphuk and Zutulpuk whereas the Inner Kora of Mt. Kailash is about 18km + 6km Charansparsh that is covered in 2 days. 

Mount Kailash Inner Parikrama Itinerary:

When doing Outer and Inner Parikrama of Mount Kailash together, the following itinerary is followed:

Day 1: Trek from Yam Dwar to Dirapuk (10km, 8 hours)

Day 2: Trek from Dirapuk to Charansparsh and back (6km, 4 hours)

Day 3:Trek from Dirapuk to Zutulpuk (22km, 12 hours)

Day 4:Trek from Zutulpuk to Yam Dwar (8km, 4 hours)

Day 5: Trek from Darchen to Inner Parikrama and back (18km, 10 hours)

The Inner Kora is a trail that takes you close to the south face of Mount Kailash. Darchen serves as the base for Inner Parikrama of Kailash Mountain. Much more challenging than the outer kora, the inner kora requires some mountaineering expertise and gear for the Kailash Parikrama. This region's spiritual, environmental, and cultural facets are all addressed by the Kailash Inner Kora Trek.

Sacred Places during the Mt Kailash Inner Kora:

There is a 24 km walking journey involved in the inner kora of Mount Kailash. To experience the Inner Kora, devotees must extend their pilgrimage by three days. They will pay respects to countless spiritual sites found along the way throughout this circumambulation which are enumerated below:


The Hindi terms Charan, which means foot, and Sparsh, which means touch, are combined to form the phrase Charansparsh. Hence, touching the feet is the whole meaning of this word. In the Kailash Mansarovar Yatra, Charansparsh is touching Mount Kailash up close. Mount Kailash is shaped like the Shivalingam - the symbol of Lord Shiva. When we perform the Mount Kailash Charansparsh, it feels as though we are touching the feet of Lord Shiva.

Kuber Kund

According to Shastra, south is the direction of Kuber who resides at Mount of Kailash. The most significant lake discovered on the Inner Kora of Mount Kailash is Kuber Kund. It is greatly venerated since it has so many heroic stories attached to it. But the beauty of this place and the calmness around this lake will astound you. 

The East face of Mount Kailash which is usually not clearly visible during Outer Parikrama of Mount Kailash can be seen from Kuber Kund on the way to Kuber Parvat. 

Sherlung Monastery

When starting the Inner Parikrama of Mount Kailash from Darchen, the first divine spot that comes on the way is Sherlung Monastery. It was built as a center of meditation for the monks. One can get a close view of the Nandi Parvat and the Ashtapad from here.

Nandi Parvat

The well-known Nandi Parvat, which is located close to Mount Kailash and is so called because of its shape and appearance that closely resembles the Nandi Bull (the sacred vehicle of Lord Shiva). There is a prevalent belief that Lord Shiva is unable to hear the prayers of his worshippers because he is intently focused on meditation at holy Kailash Mountain. The Nandi serves as a messenger for them, conveying their requests to Lord Shiva.
The Inner Parikrama of Mount Kailash is also known as Nandi Inner Parikrama. 

Saptrishi Caves

As the name says, "Sapt" means seven, and "Rishi" means sage, it was originally the residence of the seven sages - Bharadwaja, Bhrigu, Gautama, Atri, Kashyapa, Vishwamitra, and Vashitha who were devoted followers of Lord Shiva. The most well-known Saptrishi Caves are known to be naturally formed caves composed of 13 Chortens.


The name Ashtapad is derived from the words Ashta meaning Eight and Pad meaning Steps. Asthapad, one of the most spiritual centers on Kailash Parvat Inner Kora is a real treat for the pilgrims. It is considered that Rishabhadev- the First Jain Thirthankar attained Moksha ( Nirvana) at this site. One can spot a spine-like structure on the South face of Mount Kailash which is believed to be the Eight step ( Ashtapad).


According to legend, Pushpadanta, a snowflake that emerges from the top of the Kailash Mountain, is where the Atma Lingam is formed. It is said that the holy and pure water of the Sailodha River originates at Atmalingam. It can be spotted towards the west of Kailash Parvat. 

Although the Inner Parikrama of Mount Kailash is regarded as a challenging one, the outcomes are faithful. Mount Kailash Inner Kora brings about a sense of fulfillment and tranquility and the remarkable divinity found in the spiritual centers can be felt at each and every point.

When to go for Mt. Kailash Inner Parikrama?

The best time to go for Inner Parikrama of Kailash Parvat is from Mid August to September. Since the trail of inner Parikrama is a challenging one, hence it requires clear weather conditions for the pilgrims to trek through the Nandi Parvat Inner Kora. The snow melts post monsoon, hence it is comparatively safer to take on the Kailash Inner Kora tour in August and September. 

Kailash Mansarovar Inner Parikrama Package

The Inner Parikrama Tour of Kailash Mansarovar is of 12 nights and 13 days from Lucknow to Lucknow by Helicopter route. This Tour package of Kailash Mansarovar Yatra will include both Inner Parikrama and Outer Parikrama of Mount Kailash.

For more details on Kailash Mansarovar Yatra Inner Parikrama Tour Package, visit or Call / SMS KMY Inner Parikrama on 9911937751.

Get in Touch

Have An Enquiry? Write To Us…

Popular Pilgrimage Package

No data found
Talk to TTT Expert !