Four Faces Of Mount Kailash

Four Faces Of Mount Kailash: Know about The Glory of Kailash Mountain

Four Faces Of Kailash Mountain 

Mount Kailash is the huge establishment of faith, religion, spirituality and hope for the almighty. It is located in the centre of the earth spreading wisdom and love to all the nooks and corners. Shaped like an Egyptian pyramid, Kailash is not just a mere huge black stone, it is a mountain of great spiritual and religious significance. 

The great Kailash has a huge fondness for the number ‘4’. Mount Kailash is home to four great religions of this world, namely Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism and Bon. The four rivers Sutlej, Brahmaputra, Karnali and Indus emerge from the divine Kailash in four different directions dividing the world into four parts. And this is not the end, Mansarovar Kailash is also known for its four eminent faces. 

It is believed that Mount Kailash is the Axis Mundi of the earth and each of its faces is ideally facing one of the directions completely on the axis. The pilgrims get to see the different faces of Mt. Kailash during the Parikrama (Kora) of Kailash Parvat. According to a narrative in the Vishnu Purana, it is said that each face of Kailash Mountain is made up of different Jewels and each depicts four different emotions. 

South Face of Mount Kailash:

The South Face of Mount Kailash is the backside of this gigantic mountain on which a spine-like long line is seen passing from the top to the base. According to the Hindu Pilgrims, this long line is considered to be the spine of Lord Shiva. Rakshastal is the point where we get the first glimpse of the holy Kailash Mountain and the face which is visible to us is the South Face of Mount Kailash. After Rakshastal we move towards Mansarovar Lake. The South Face of Mount Kailash can be spotted right in front of the lake. Yam Dwar is the starting point of Mount Kailash Parikrama. It is here that we come near the South Face of Mount Kailash and see it clearly. According to Vishnu Dharmottara Puran, Lord Shiva is five faced, out of which 4 faces are gentle and the fifth face which is the South Face is dangerous. Even death is afraid of this face. It is believed that by worshipping this face of Mount Kailash one gets protection from untimely death. The First day of Kailash Parvat Parikrama is the most auspicious one as Mount Kailash is visible throughout the day. We move from the South Face of Mount Kailash to the West Face of Mount Kailash followed by the North Face of Mount Kailash. The South Face of Mount Kailash is believed to be made up of Lapis Lazuli. This snow-covered face reflects majesty and splendour. 

West Face of Mount Kailash:

On the First Day, Mount Kailash Parikrama of 10km starts from Yamdwar where the South face of the Kailash is visible and we trek towards Dirapuk where the North face of the Kailash is visible. As we trek for about 2 to 3 hours and cover a midway distance, the South Face of Mount Kailash is replaced by the West Face of Mount Kailash and as we move further the West Face of Mount Kailash is replaced by the North Face of Mount Kailash. It is said that if you meticulously observe this face of the mountain you can spot a massive human-like face on its surface. The Bhole Bhakts believe it to be the face of Lord Shiva. The West Face of Mount Kailash is believed to be made up of Ruby. It embraces the aura of compassion and benevolence. 

North Face of Mount Kailash:

The North Face of Mt. Kailash is the most popular one. The most featured photo of Mt. Kailash that is widely seen on websites, magazines, newspapers, etc is of the North Face of Mount Kailash. The North Face is visible as you hike to reach Dirapuk on the First day of Mount Kailash Parikrama. When going for Charansparsh you can get even closer to the North Face of this sacred mountain. This is one of the most surreal sights of Kailash Mountain as North Face is the face of Mount Kailash which is visible between two mountains. When the sun's rays fall on the face of Mount Kailash, it makes it shine like gold, hence giving Mt. Kailash the name of Golden Kailash. The North Face of Mount Kailash is believed to be made up of Gold. It has crisp and sharp features that showcase an intimidating and menacing feeling. 

East Face of Mount Kailash:

The East Face of Kailash Mountain can be spotted only at a distance. It is clearly visible when going for the Inner Parikrama of Mount Kailash. You can also get some glimpse of the East face on the Second Day of Outer Parikrama of Mount Kailash when we start from Dirapuk and reach Dolma La Pass- the highest point of Kailash Parikrama and descend towards Gauri Kund. After this point, the view of the East face of Mount Kailash starts to diminish and hide behind other mountain peaks. The East Face of Mount Kailash is believed to be made up of Crystal and is the most mysterious face of Mount Kailash.   

Mount Kailash has always been the best example of magnificence showcasing Mount Kailash Shiva Face. To experience the beauty of these four faces of Mount Kailash, we must take up the Kailash Mansarovar Yatra at least once in our lifetime.

Get in Touch

Have An Enquiry? Write To Us…

Popular Pilgrimage Package

No data found
Talk to TTT Expert !