Please wait while we loading...


Kailash Mansarovar Trek: A Comprehensive Guide for Mt. Kailash Trek

The mystical Kailash Mansarovar Yatra brings you to the Land of Divinity which is beyond the realms of human conception. A trip to Kailash Manasarovar is considered to be capable of enlightening the uneducated and enhancing the mind to better understand fresh perspectives on life and hence is viewed as the pinnacle of "Tirth Yatras".

Participating in the sacred journey to Kailash Mansarovar may result in the cleansing and sanctification of soul through sacred bath in the Lake Mansarovar and Parikrama of Mount Kailash during the Kailash Mansarovar Yatra.

Kailash Mansarovar Trek Distance via Different Routes

The Kailash Mansarovar Yatra takes place by two routes. One is the Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India route and the other is the Nepal route through which Private companies operate. The Government of India (MEA) route can be further divided into Kailash Manasarovar Yatra via Lipulekh Pass in Uttarakhand (25 Days) and Kailash Manasarovar Yatra via NathuLa Pass in Sikkim (21 Days) and the Nepal route can be further divided into Kailash Manasarovar Yatra by Helicopter (11 Days), Kailash Manasarovar Yatra by Bus (14 Days) and Kailash Manasarovar Yatra via Lhasa (14 Days). 

Until 2019 the Kailash Mansarovar Yatra through Uttarakhand Lipulekh Pass route used to be completely by a trek of 250 km approx. One had to trek from Dharchula to Lipulekh Pass to enter Tibet wherein the Holy Mount Kailash and Mansarovar Jheel is located. It took more than 3 days (one side) to reach Lipulekh Pass. Some of the villages that fall on this route are Budhi, Gunji, Nabi, Kalapani, Malpa, Lamari, Garbyang, etc. The pilgrims also had to trek during the Mount Kailash Parikrama which is of about 40km and is covered in 2.5 days. Now a new road to Kailash Mansarovar is being constructed on the India side which is expected to be complete by the end of 2023. The new road network in Uttarakhand will enable the yatries to cover the distance between Dharchula and Lipulekh Pass by vehicle, thus making the journey to Kailash Mansarovar a comfortable one.

Short route for Kailash Mansarovar Trek via Lipulekh Pass:

Dharchula — Budhi — Gunji — Kalapani — Nabidhang — Lipulekh Pass — Taklakot — Darchen — Mt. Kailash Parikrama — Qugu (Lake Mansarovar) — Taklakot — Gunji — Budhi — Dharchula. 

Trekking is not mandatory in all the other routes of Kailash Mansarovar Yatra including Nathula Pass Kailash Yatra, Helicopter Kailash Yatra, Overland Kailash Yatra as well as Kailash Yatra via Lhasa. Yatries have to trek during Kailash Parvat Parikrama Only. 

Kailash Mansarovar Yatra via Nepal route offers you the provision of optional trekking during Kailash Mansarovar Yatra. The Kailash Yatra through this route is completely by transportation that includes flight, helicopter, and bus. The yatries only have to trek while doing the 40 km Parikrama of Mount Kailash, other than this there is no other trek. There is option to complete Kailash trek distance either by foot or by pony. The Mt. Kailash Parikrama is completed in 2.5 days in which 10 km trek in done on First day from Yamdwar to Diraphuk, then 22 km trek is done on Second day from Diraphuk to Zuthulpuk and on the last day 8 km trek is done with which Parikrama is completed.

For More details on Kailash Manasarovar Yatra:
Kailash Mansarovar Tour Packages
Kailash Mansarovar FAQ
Kailash Mansarovar Yatra Blogs