Please wait while we loading...

What Are The Durations And Places For Each Kailash Yatra Itinerary?

Kailash Mansarovar Yatra: A look on the Places and it's Durations for different Kailash Yatra Packages

What Are The Durations And Places For Each Kailash Yatra Itinerary?

Kailash Mansarovar Yatra is highly revered as a visit to Mount Kailash, which is also known as the home of Lord Shiva. As per their religious beliefs, thousands of pilgrims as well as tourists from around the world visit this place to seek the blessing from the Lord, and to cleanse off their sins. The duration and itinerary of Kailash Mansarovar Yatra is defined by the tour operator you book this Yatra from. But in general, it takes the span of around 14 days to complete this Yatra in a hassle free manner. Pilgrims and tourists visit this holy place in batches, and the package they have bought for it covers up all their requirements.

Here is the most common itinerary for Kailash Mansarovar Yatra after the arrival of pilgrims in Kathmandu, Nepal:

Day 1: Arrival of Tourists in Kathmandu

As per the planned tour, you will meet one of your tour representatives after arriving in Kathmandu, Nepal. He will help you reach your hotel, give you some time to relax and get the formalities of the tour done. You will be told about the tour in brief in the evening, followed by dinner and overnight stay in your hotel there in Kathmandu.

Day 2: Beginning of Yatra to Reach Syabrubeshi

On the second day, the actual Yatra begins in the early morning hours. You will be made to leave Kathmandu in a reserved coach, carrying your breakfast with you. On the way, you will drive past Galchi to reach Syabrubeshi, a place near the China border. You will stay there in a hotel for the night ahead.

Day 3: Journey from Syabrubeshi to Kerung

For this, the distance of around 17 km is to be covered to reach the China border. The tour representative will make you check into Tibet, after which you will reach Kerung to stay there for the night time.

Day 4: Excursion of Kerung City

As you are moving towards high altitudes, this day will help your body become accustomed to the changing climate. You will be free to visit Kerung city, explore the places nearby and will stay there overnight.

Day 5: Travel from Kerung to Saga - Dongba

The journey will start from Kerung in the early morning to reach the next intermediate destination on the way, Saga – Dongba. You will stay there for the night at a guest house, as per arrangements made by your tour operator.

Day 6: Travel from Saga – Dongba to Manasarovar

From there, you will be able to reach Lake Mansarovar, can do its Parikrama there or take a dip in its waters. After enjoying the view there, you will stay near the lake for the night time in a guest house.

Day 7: Journey from Mansarovar to Darchen

A two hour drive from Mansarovar will take you to Darchen, where you can go for Ashtapad excursion and stay in Darchen overnight. This excursion of the eight smaller mountains around Mount Kailash which looks like making a lotus as mountains.

Day 8: Moving from Darchen to Diraphuk

This will start your Kailash Parikrama, which you will start early in the morning to walk for 6-7 hours continuously. You can also hire a horse to make this journey at an extra cost, and reach Diraphuk to stay there for the night.

Day 9: From Diraphuk to Zhulthulphuk

You may feel it difficult to trek on this day, as you will pass Dolma-La Pass at a height of 5400 m. Unpredictable weather or snowstorms can be expected. You will stay ahead in Zuthulphuk to stay there for the night in tents.

Day 10: Return Journey Starts

You will start moving back, following the same route. On this day, you will reach Saga – Dongba, and will stay there for the night.

Day 11: Back from Saga-Dongba to Kerung

You will be taken back to Kerung, in a vehicle. This will be your last day to stay in Tibet.

Day 12: From Kerung to Kathmandu

After formalities at custom, you will reach the Nepal side and be taken to Kathmandu. You will stay there in a hotel that day and night.

Day 13: Visit to Kathmandu

You can go for Kathmandu sightseeing on this day, including Pashupatinath Darshan, visit the market area there, do the shopping, and need to be back at the hotel to stay there for the night.

Day 14: Departure from Kathmandu

On this day, you can leave for your home country from Kathmandu, after checking out from your hotel in the morning.

The Bottom Line

This is a common itinerary. However, depending upon the tour operator you have chosen, there might be some changes in it in terms of intermediate stays, duration of journey etc. So, you are advised to plan your Kailash Mansarovar Yatra carefully.

Contact us for more details on Kailash Mansarovar Yatra Itinerary.